Why MOOC?

As an MSc Digital Marketing student at University of Southampton, I have been asked to participate in MOOC. MOOC stands for Massive Open Online Course which encourages learners to share their thoughts and respond to others. After 3 weeks of participating in the Digital Marketing course, I found the MOOC is more useful than I first expected.

#1 I have learned new topics that I have never thought of before. Although the Internet is a huge database that we can search for anything, it is full of floating information that I don’t know what to look for. The MOOC raises issues and topics like what’s happening in 21st century with some basic explanations. There are many things we do or know but not notice and concern enough. For instance, ‘gamification’ has been in our everyday life for a while. How many of you bought Happy Meal to get the minions? How many of you used to play Angry Birds? Have you ever thought why these things exist? Everything exists for a reason. I use MOOC as the start to go through some new theories or practices before I do further research.

#2 As the MOOC encourages learners to join the discussions, I have developed my own ideas in doing so. Sometimes, I miss the chance to participate in class because I couldn’t think and speak out in time for discussion. I feel it a bit difficult to jump in during the discussion in class. Plus, the class time is limited so I couldn’t full develop my thoughts. By participating in the MOOC, I have more time to think it through and respond in the discussion.

#3 Since the MOOC is available anywhere for anybody for free of charge, the ideas can be from anyone around the world with completely diverse demographic, economic and politic backgrounds. There are diverse perspectives I learned from participating in the MOOC. It benefits more or less to some people depending on their needs and preferences.

Who would mostly benefit from the MOOC? Online courses are often offered to faraway learners who do not have sufficient access to education nearby. More interestingly, the MOOC does not only benefit to those but also leaners who eager to learn and understand different perspectives from people from different backgrounds.

MOOC participants' locations

MOOC participants’ locations

Moreover, for non-native English speaker might have some listening difficulties but able to read and write can greatly gain from taking parts in the MOOC. There are subtitles and transcripts for every video, participants can carefully read through and make some notes as the course goes on. Listening skill can actually be developed through listen to the video together with reading subtitles.

Lastly, those who need time to think and prepare what they want to say. As the time is not limited like in traditional classrooms, participants can take more time developing their ideas before sharing them to others. Having time to think is crucial to expand the ideas. Many times, I couldn’t come up with ideas to share in class but once the class ends, I know what I wanted to say. Therefore, MOOC allows room for learners to think and develop ideas more than discussion in the classroom.

Nevertheless, I prefer traditional classroom to the MOOC. As I’m a student in an international institution, my physical classroom is full of international students from around the world. I like the feeling that we interact in class where we get immediate response. The classroom atmosphere is more personal and warm than taking a course at home in front of computer that sometimes I find it quite easy to be interrupted. MOOC will be an additional course where I can study at anytime anywhere apart from the face-to-face interaction in traditional classrooms.

What do you think could happen to the education in the next ten years?